December Recap and Update

Last month wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, considering that I haven’t been able to give the memoir any attention. E-book sales have dropped, but paperback sales were surprisingly steady. I also just found out that the books have been re-stocked at Kyobo—the rep at the intermediary never got back to me about a price adjustment and I kind of forgot about it—and already three of the five books have been sold since it’s been back on the shelves.

It’s a new year, but the changing of the year doesn’t mean much to me. I’ll probably still be writing 2015 on forms for the next half year and I have no New Year’s resolutions. If there’s one thing that I’m thankful for, it’s that there are no more year-end get-togethers. While I enjoy drinking (a lot), I don’t enjoy being social and my health takes a big hit from being constantly drunk or hung over.

While I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, I do set goals often. I managed to meet the goal I set for the end of last year. I finished a first draft of the textbook I’ve been working on since last July. It still needs a lot of work and I’m waiting on feedback from several people, but I’m hoping to have a finished product by the end of the summer. Unfortunately, it really depends on whether I can find someone reliable to help me translate it into Korean or at least edit my translation.

A benefit of finishing the first draft is that my concentration is not monopolized by the textbook anymore and I can turn my attention to other things. For the next half year, my goal is to make reasonable progress on the translation of both the textbook and the memoir and try to do a little more promotion.

I think I’ve found some reliable people to help me with translation, but only time will tell. I spent the last couple months waiting on a flaky acquaintance who kept making excuses, only to find out that he translated a measly half page. Hopefully, my new prospects won’t be as disappointing. If so, I might end up having to translate them myself, and I’m okay with it. I actually really dislike having to rely on other people, and I much prefer it when I’m the one who’s disappointing.

 

This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to December Recap and Update

  1. Kevin Kim says:

    May all your collaborators be trustworthy. Whatever happened to Poet Guy?

    Like

    • Young says:

      He’s still willing to work with me, I think. I just found someone to do an initial translation. I’d then check it and send it on to the “Poet Guy.” It takes me an inordinately long time to translate from English to Korean.

      Like

      • Kevin Kim says:

        You know, I still need to get my hard copy of the book from you. This is becoming something of a joke. Well… new year, new goals, so maybe Obtaining the Hard Copy can be one such goal for the Year of the Monkey. I’m teaching at SNU on April 15, so perhaps we can meet up then. That same day, I’m supposed to meet a professor friend of mine who also teaches there, but maybe I can swing by your on-campus office (you have one, ja?) before moving on to see Charles. Anyway, let’s stay in touch and make this happen.

        Like

    • Young says:

      I was also thinking the same thing the other day. April 15th sounds good to me. Really any day is fine.

      Like

Leave a Reply

