November Recap

Another month with nothing really to report. I had a book reading lined up for the month but it fell through, and I’m still trying to get the paperbacks back on the shelves at Kyobo. The Korean translation of the book is at a standstill because the friend who volunteered to help me has gone AWOL. I did, however, do another promotion through Amazon with absolutely no advertising, and it went fairly well, considering.

I haven’t been blogging, and I blame it all on the textbook I’m working on. This month will probably be the same as last month as my goal is to finish the first draft by the end of the year, and I’m on track for once. Actually, I might be ahead of schedule, but there’s no telling how long the last couple chapters are going to take.

The textbook is really the problem, for the blog as well as the memoir. It’s because I can only really focus on one thing at a time. This inability to multi-task even a little is something I need to work on.

As I hate writing short and content-less posts, I’ll share the “exciting news” I referred to in September because it didn’t pan out, either, and I’m pretty sure it’s not going to change. At the beginning of September, I received an e-mail from the “rights check person” at a major talent agency (that represents many great actors and one writer that I really respect) asking whether the film/television rights for the book were still available. I responded promptly and received a prompt reply saying that she would pass along the information. That was three months ago.

I’m actually not that disappointed because I have a hard time seeing the book as a Hollywood film or television show. If the book were ever to be made into a movie, it would probably have to be made in Korea, and the only way that will happen is if the book gets translated into Korean and there is a favorable response. And of course, that will only happen if the book ever gets translated into Korean.

All I can do is keep writing, and that’s all I really need.

This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

