June Recap

When I checked the statistics for June, I was surprised to find that the numbers were very similar to the numbers for April. In contrast, the numbers for May were only a third of that amount prior to the free book promotion. It might be a payoff from the free promotion, but the sales were steady up until the end of the month. This may be wishful thinking, but if I can manage to maintain this rate of sales, I should have 800 books “sold” by the end of the year.

I had one interview broadcast this month on France Inter, but unfortunately, I don’t have any more promotional activities lined up for the near future. A lot of the people I had lined up have stopped replying to my e-mails, which is regrettable because some of them would have given me really good exposure.

I’ve also gotten four new reviews on Amazon, bringing the total to nine. Just one more and I’ll be at the ten review mark. When I was doing the free book promotion, I saw that some of the sites wouldn’t allow books with less than ten reviews to be posted. I haven’t decided if I’ll do another free book promotion in the future, but it’ll be helpful in the event that I do.

I haven’t found a way to get the book back in Kyobo. None of the Korean publishers I contacted have replied, and I went to a couple of print shops, but their quotes were too high to be viable.

Probably the biggest news is what was posted in my last entry. Right now, I’m focusing on re-writing the book in Korean. It’s extremely frustrating because I feel like I’m unable to express myself in Korean to an acceptable degree. It’s been about 10 days since I started, and I’ve only managed to get 6 pages done. That’s less than 2 percent. At my current pace, it will take me over 13 years a year* to finish. Of course, I’ve been very busy with an editing project and will be until the fall, and hopefully, things will pick up once I don’t have extra work to do.

* I don’t know where the 13-year figure came from. I’m horrible at math these days. To think that the kid that was dubbed “the Math-magician” in middle school grew up to be unable to do simple math.

This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to June Recap

  1. bighominid says:

    I assume you’re joking about the “13 years” thing because the math actually works out to 500 days, which is less than a year and a half, assuming a steady pace.

    That said, congrats on the stats (it rhymes!), and continued good fortune as you seek out a decent print shop.

    Like

    • Young says:

      Ah. Haha. I’m so bad at math now. I don’t even know how I came up with that figure. Thanks for pointing it out. It makes me feel a lot better while at the same time really stupid.

      Like

      • bighominid says:

        Bad at math? Time to hand in your Korean card. Heh.

        Simple algebra—
        10 days and 6 pages = 2% done, so 100% done = (10 days / 6 pages) x 50. That gives you 500 days and 300 pages.

        In more explicitly mathematical form, and working with days only (not with pages):
        10 = .02x
        x = 10/.02 = 500

        Further:

        (500 days) / (365.25 days) = 1.369 years.

        You can still reach the 13-year projection, though, by goofing off. Spread 500 days’ work over 13 years. 500/13 = 38.462 days of translation work per year, i.e., about six-and-a-half weeks per year. I’d love a job like that.

        More realistically, maybe think about building in some breaks to give yourself a two-year time frame. Translating relentlessly is just going to make you sick of your own book.

        By the way… and I hate to be an asshole about this… but while Mr. Choi’s offer to help you is a very kind one, have you verified the quality of his Korean prose? I know he’s a poet and all, but that’s not necessarily a reflection of what his prose will be like. What if he ends up turning your memoir, with its mixture of humor and grit, into something that sounds more like a poetic rumination on the order of “The Thin Red Line” (a poetically shot war movie that I absolutely hated for its unrealistic portrayal of war)?

        Not that I think this is going to be a major problem. I’ve read the blogs of some self-professed poets, and their prose is just fine. But every once in a while, I’ll read prose by someone who’s obviously a poet at heart, and the prose gets annoyingly flowery, lofty, vague, abstract, and overbearing. Barf. I’m just saying that you don’t want to design hard-hitting choreography for a hip-hop contest, then ask a ballet troupe to interpret it for you.

        Like

  2. bighominid says:

    Correction: about five-and-a-half weeks a year. I’d better turn in my Korean card as well.

    Like

    • Young says:

      I already handed in my Korean card nine years ago.

      Anyway, I’m not worried about Mr. Choi’s skill. I’ll be writing it myself and he’ll just be editing it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

