The Accidental Citizen-Soldier

A new blog and a new start. Mom asked me over the Lunar New Year holiday if I had any New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions, I replied, which was a dick-ish thing to say I realized only after I saw her reaction. I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions because I find it restrictive to resolve to better my life on only one day of the year and I’m usually too hungover on New Year’s Day to get out of bed, let alone make a life-changing decision.

I’ve resolved to close my previous blog and to start writing in this new blog because I’ve just published my first book on Amazon.com under my actual name rather than a pen name. I will continue to publish under my actual name so I hope this will be the last blog I write.

The book (click on the image to be re-directed to the Amazon page)

front cover3

The Accidental Citizen-Soldier is a memoir, the story of an American who traveled to South Korea to teach English, only to be barred from leaving the country and forced to serve in the Korean Army. I knew very little of the language and practically nothing of the Army culture, but I somehow managed to come out the other end of the two years relatively unscathed. The two years took me from the Korean countryside to Second Army HQ to Bagram Air Base in Afghanistan and back again.

The book is only $2.99 for the Kindle version. If you want to read it on your phone or computer, you only need to download the Kindle app (for free) from the iTunes/Google Play store or Amazon.com. I don’t recommend buying the print version because it’s $11.99 and my share of that is almost nothing. If you still want to buy the paperback, you can also order it from Amazon.com.

I’m going to start promoting the book from next week, and I’ll post updates about book-related news and stories that didn’t make it into the book here. I’ll also post updates about my other writing projects here as well. If you’ve come here from my previous blog, you’ll know that I don’t post often, but I will post if there is something to share. Hopefully, there will be a lot to share in the coming months.

 

 

This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Accidental Citizen-Soldier

  1. Well, I found your book via Kevin Kim, ordered it from Amazon (got the $2.99 price automatically) and enjoyed the hell out of it. Glad you made it through the experience relatively unscathed. Talk about immersion programs for learning the Korean language!

    Good luck to you in your future endeavors. I blogged about your book, but hardly anyone reads my blog. If I might suggest you send a copy to one of the big bloggers (I’m thinking Instapundit who frequently plugs books) that might generate more sales than several of the hated interviews.

    Cheers!

    Like

    • Young says:

      John, thanks for the feedback and the suggestion. I’ve been researching different ways to generate interest in the book recently, and hopefully something will pay off. I’m glad you enjoyed the book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

